About Us

Lawyers Defending American Democracy was conceived by a diverse and nonpartisan group of attorneys, including former federal and state judges, United States Attorneys, managing partners of large law firms, law deans and other distinguished lawyers from around the country.

As members of the legal community, we have a unique responsibility to defend the Constitution and the underlying values and norms on which our democracy depends. As such, we believe the virtually unprecedented assaults on our democracy by our President must not stand.

Since our founding in January 2019, we have authored multiple Open Letters and Statements demanding President Donald Trump and Congress honor the fundamental principles, norms and values of our democracy, and urge the legal community – in particular, members and leaders of America’s national, state and local bar associations, law schools, law firms and fellow lawyers nationwide – to join us in speaking out against the threats to our democracy.

You may view our read our Open Letters and Statements by following this link.

If you are an attorney and interested in joining and supporting our mission, we hope you’ll consider signing our latest Call to Action.

Wherever you live and work – be it in cities, towns, rural areas, or the suburbs – American democracy needs to hear your voice.

Steering Committee Members 

Scott Harshbarger, Chairman – Former National President of Common Cause and two-term Attorney General of Massachusetts
Charles BaronEmeritus Professor Boston College Law School; Westport Point, MA
Robert Dell – Retired Attorney
Fernande (Nan) R.V. Duffly– Former Justice of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
Ivan Espinoza-Madrigal – Executive Director, Lawyers for Civil Rights.
Evan Falchuk – Former independent gubernatorial candidate for Massachusetts and founder of the United Independent Party; Auburndale, MA
Nicholas Fels – Retired partner, Covington & Burling LLP
Eugene Fidell– Counsel at Feldesman Tucker Leifer Fidell LLP, Washington, DC, and Florence Rogatz Visiting Lecturer at Yale Law School
Ruth Ellen Fitch– Retired partner, Palmer & Dodge; retired President/CEO The Dimock Health Center
Carmen F. Francella – Boston, MA
Fred M. Lowenfels– General Counsel Emeritus at Trammo, Inc., New York
James F. McHugh – Former Associate Justice, Massachusetts Appeals Court
Thomas Mela – Former Director of the Children’s Law Support Project; former General Counsel for the Massachusetts Office for Children and Chief Attorney for the New England Office of the U.S. Department of Education Office for Civil Rights; Newbury, MA
John T. Montgomery– Ropes & Gray, former managing partner (retired)
Gershon M. (Gary) Ratner – Founder and Executive Director, Citizens for Effective Schools; former Associate General Counsel for Litigation, U.S. Dep’t of Housing & Urban Development
Emanuel L. Rouvelas – Washington, DC
Lois Schiffer – Former Assistant Attorney General, Environment and Natural Resources Division, US Department of Justice and former General Counsel, NOAA
Lisa Weissler – Retired Assistant Attorney General, Alaska
Lucien Wulsin
 – Founder and retired Executive Director, Insure the Uninsured Project (ITUP). Los Angeles, CA