Statement Calling for the Impeachment of Attorney General Barr

If you are lawyer, please consider adding your signature to this statement. You can do so by CLICKING HERE. Only your name and affiliation/title, if given, will be made public. All other information, including your email address is for LDAD’s internal use only.

We, the undersigned lawyers, mindful of our professional, ethical and moral obligations to uphold the rule of law declare the following:

That AG Barr’s attempt to fire the U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York and replace him with a non-Senate confirmed acting U.S. attorney raises serious questions about his and the President’s motivation and their corruption of the process of appointment;

That AG Barr’s conduct in this case and in a series of prior events, most recently the order to use paramilitary forces on peaceful protestors, and the use of the Justice Department to quash publication of a book by Ambassador Bolton show a disdain for the rule of law;

That AG Barr has the support of the President and will not resign from his post;

Therefore we call on the House of Representatives to immediately start impeachment proceedings against AG Barr, consistent with their responsibilities for oversight and protection against abuse of power by the executive branch.

Time is of the essence.


Scott Harshbarger, Chairman – Former National President of Common Cause and two-term Attorney General of Massachusetts
Charles Baron – Emeritus Professor Boston College Law School
Fernande (Nan) R.V. Duffly– Former Justice of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
Ivan Espinoza-Madrigal – Executive Director, Lawyers for Civil Rights
Evan Falchuk – Former independent gubernatorial candidate for Massachusetts and founder of the United Independent Party
Nicholas Fels – Retired partner, Covington & Burling LLP
Eugene Fidell– Counsel at Feldesman Tucker Leifer Fidell LLP and Florence Rogatz Visiting Lecturer at Yale Law School
Fred M. Lowenfels– General Counsel Emeritus at Trammo, Inc.
Stanley J. Marcuss – Former Counsel to the U.S. Senate’s International Finance Subcommittee; former Senior Deputy Assistant Secretary in the U.S. Commerce Department; former partner, Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy; former Senior Fellow at Harvard’s Kennedy School; retired partner, Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner
James F. McHugh – Former Associate Justice, Massachusetts Appeals Court
Thomas Mela – Retired Managing Attorney of the Massachusetts Advocates for Children
John T. Montgomery– Ropes & Gray, former managing partner (retired)
Gershon M. (Gary) Ratner – Co-founder, LDAD; Founder & Executive Director, Citizens for Effective Schools; former Associate General Counsel for Litigation, U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development; former Associate Director for Litigation, Greater Boston Legal Services
Emanuel L. Rouvelas – Washington, DC
Lucien Wulsin
 – Founder and retired Executive Director, Insure the Uninsured Project (ITUP)